2019 Victorian Public Healthcare Award Winner

media release



Contact: Nadia Surace Community Interlink Marketing & Communications Coordinator
e: nadia.surace@gvhealth.org.au

Community Interlink has been named winner of the 2019 Victorian Public Healthcare Awards’ Minister for Disability, Ageing and Carers Award for excellence in public sector aged care. The award celebrates Victoria’s aged care sector that supports programs and services to meet the needs of the increasing number of older Victorians.

In what is believed to be an Australian first, the Community Interlink health services consortium was formed in 2015 to ensure that home care could be provided to those most in need in the communities the consortium services. Accepting the award on behalf of the consortium at the VPHA gala presentation last night, GV Health Chief Executive, Matt Sharp said receiving the award was wonderful recognition for the outstanding work carried out by the entire consortium.

“The primary goal of the consortium is to build on a shared philosophy and commitment to supporting local communities through local health services and providing the best possible services we can to those in need,” he said.

“We now have 19 health services working together to deliver outstanding care across our region and improving the health and wellbeing of our community.

“I am very proud of the work that all the staff has undertaken to ensure the success of Community Interlink and I look forward to continuing to work together with all our partners to achieve even better health outcomes for our collective community,” Mr Sharp said.

The consortium works toward building the capacity of member agencies to deliver direct care and co-ordinated care while opening up new contracting opportunities and encouraging organisational learning and development.

Community Interlink members include Albury Wodonga Health, Alexandra District Health, Beechworth Health Service, Benalla Health, Euroa Health Inc, Gateway Health,Goulburn Valley Health (lead agency), Indigo North Health, The Kilmore and District Hospital, Mansfield District Hospital, Nagambie Healthcare, Nexus Primary Health, Northeast Health Wangaratta, Numurkah District Health Service (NCN Health), Nathalia District Hospital (NCN Health), Seymour Health, Tallangatta Health Service, Yarrawonga Health and Yea & District Memorial Hospital.


About the Victorian Public Healthcare Awards

The Victorian Public Healthcare Awards (VPHA), now in its 15th year, is an annual celebration of excellence, dedication and innovation in public health, health services and service initiatives that deliver informed and effective healthcare. The Awards reflect priority areas in healthcare identified by the government and focus on the sectors’ ability to drive change and improve health outcomes for all Victorians. They recognise leadership and excellence in the provision of publicly-funded healthcare for the Victorian community. These Awards have been a highlight of the public healthcare sector for the past 14 years and include Victoria’s most prestigious accolade – the Premier’s Health Service of the Year Award. Entries will be accepted from Victorian government-funded healthcare providers and organisations delivering public health research or programs. The 2019 awards presentation was held at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre last night.

About the Minister for Disability, Ageing and Carers Award for excellence in public sector aged care

This award celebrates Victoria’s aged care sector that supports programs and services to meet the needs of the increasing number of older Victorians. This includes:

  • responding to the changing demographic profile of Victoria, understanding its impacts and maximising the opportunities of an ageing population
  • supporting older Victorians’ ability to age well across three main areas of focus: optimising health and wellbeing at all life stages, addressing disadvantage and improving social participation
  • improving access and/or quality of service provision for our diverse older population.

Community Interlink Numurkah representative Robyn Sprunt, Community Interlink consortium lead agency GV Health CEO Matt Sharp, Minister for Disability, Ageing and Carers Luke Donnellan, Community Interlink Wangaratta representative Lee O’Neill, Community Interlink Wodonga representative Hilary Murtagh, Community Interlink Cobram representative Jan McCrae, GV Health Executive Director Community Care and Mental Health Joshua Freeman, Community Interlink Program Manager Tricia Van De Paverd, Community Interlink Benalla representative Janelle Stevenson, Community Interlink Finance representative Amy Bye, Community Interlink Broadford representative Catherine Woods, Community Interlink Seymour representative Elly Fisher and Community Interlink Shepparton representative Rebecca Jones at the VPHA gala presentation, Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.